Anyone out there?

It has been a long time, yet again, since I have posted. Life has been busy.

Jacob is now nine and a half months old. Really? Where did the time go?

I still have to pinch myself to believe this is real. I have a son. This is my life. Me? How did that happen again? Oh right…years and years of infertility treatment. Right.

No, I definitely haven’t forgotten all that I went through to bring this little life into the world – it was a lot. It felt impossible at times. I almost gave up many, many times. I felt beaten up, hopeless, and wondered how much more I could take – physically, financially and emotionally.

But somehow, some way I hung in there and as fate would have it, it worked out. I got pregnant and I have the child that I so desperately longed for. And he is wonderful. I love this little boy more than I ever thought I could love someone. He is an absolute joy and I love every single minute with him.

He’s doing so well. Growing like a weed and is just a super content, happy little guy. He eats like a champ, sleeps on a schedule and loves, loves, loves people. He isn’t crawling yet and I don’t think he’s going to. He’s always hated tummy time and now he just wants to stand all the time so I have a hunch he’s just going to go straight to walking.

I was very fortunate and able to take advantage of my year long maternity leave this fall and join my mother-in-law at her winter place in Arizona for six weeks. It was so nice to escape the cold weather and spend some time with Jacob in the warm sun. I’m hoping we will be able to go back for two or three weeks in February or March. It’s just so much easier to entertain a busy baby in the warm weather than up here in the arctic tundra!

I’ve also decided to take a bit of an extended absence from work. My paid maternity leave ends at the beginning of April, but I won’t be returning to work until the beginning of September. I am very lucky in that my employer is very flexible about leave related to family obligations and they are supportive of me taking this extra time off. Although it is unpaid time off, it is more than worth it to spend some extra time with my guy before heading back to the world of work. I love being home with him and am very thankful for this opportunity.

Here are a few pictures to catch you up since my last post.

Halloween

Image

Pool time in the Arizona sun

Image

Posing for Christmas pictures

Image

First sled ride

Image

6 thoughts on “Anyone out there?

  1. You are so lucky to have that time off from work! It’s so amazing how they grow so quickly. Glad things are going well.

  2. Love the pics. Can’t wait for a play date….how is Wednesday afternoon? I go back to work after that!!! Glad to hear of you more ome off. He second year is sooooo much fun.

  3. Oh my word, he is impossibly cute!!! That is so cool that you’ve been able to take so much time off work. I am happy for you – jealous for me as I don’t have anyone to cover for me at work and will be constantly pestered at home! My mom stayed home with us kids most of the time, and I know she never regretted it even though it meant less family income. Totally worth it!

Leave a Reply

