I’m 6 months old!

jacob_sixth_month

Crazy…I can’t believe it’s been six months already. It scares me how fast the time is going.

I won’t even bother apologizing for my lengthy absence from blogland. I have come to accept that I will post when I can and try as hard as I can to keep up with my longtime blogger friends’ lives. I still read your blogs as often as I can but just don’t seem to have the time to do much else. My life is insanity.

2013 has been a crazy year for us – so many changes, some very tough times and, of course, some absolutely beautiful moments with our miracle boy. We have lost some very special people this year, including K’s dad, whose tragic passing I have discussed in past posts and, more recently, my beloved uncle – an amazing family man and renowned Canadian physician and microbiologist who, through a very courageous act before his untimely death, used his influential voice to bring forward an important issue for all Canadians. He was an incredible person and his passing has left a huge void in our family. On top of all of this, my mom had a stroke six weeks ago and so we have been busy dealing with the aftermath of that. She is doing fairly well, all things considered, but we have had to make some major life changes for her, including her long-term living arrangements.

These are just a few of the many, many curve balls that have been thrown at us this year but we’re hanging in there and doing our best to manage everything.

Jacob is amazing. He is a wonderful little boy – so, so happy – such a great personality. He makes people smile wherever we go – people always comment on how happy of a baby he is – smiles for everyone. We definitely won the lottery with this guy.

He is doing so well. Sleeping through the night – he loves, loves, loves his sleep. He just started on solids and is loving eating so far. Whenever I bring the spoon to his mouth, he opens wide and sticks out his tongue – so cute! He also recently ‘found his voice’ and has become very vocal – singing all the time. It cracks us up. We are excited to be escaping the Canadian winter and heading south for a few weeks soon. Grandma has a condo in Arizona and we are really looking forward to our little getaway.

It’s been a very tough year for us on many fronts but as we enter into our Canadian Thanksgiving weekend we have so, so much to be thankful for…

P1030377

1229991_10151875344841138_382015797_n

P1030458

Happy Thanksgiving to all my fellow Canadians!

3 thoughts on “I’m 6 months old!

  1. Awe, he is so sweet! Very sorry to hear about your year. It’s so difficult to see those we love getting older and having health difficulties, and of course losing them in this life. I hope your mom makes a miraculous recovery and has many more happy and healthy years to see her grandson grow up. Happy Thanksgiving to you!

  2. OMG, Jen, Jacob is so cute!!! Look at that sweet little face 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. Sorry to hear about your Uncle’s passing and your Mom’s illness. I hope you get to relax and unwind during your vacation.

  3. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your sweet family! Jacob is absolutely adorable! I am sorry to hear about the loss of your uncle and your Mom’s stroke. Thanks for the update!

Leave a Reply

