Dark Days with a Ray of Light

It is with a very heavy heart that I write this post. I debated whether or not to even do so but this blog has been an honest and, at at times, very painful chronicle of our journey to create this precious life I am carrying, and this recent tragedy has had a profound impact on our lives and will absolutely affect the life of our son and so I felt I needed to write this.

My dear, dear father-in-law was in a very serious accident two and a half weeks ago while vacationing with my mother-in-law and friends in the Caribbean. He was struck, while walking, by an impaired driver. We knew early on that the prognosis was not good. He had sustained very serious head injuries. After four grueling days of persistance, my husband, his brothers and his mom were finally able to get their dad/husband home via air ambulance. We knew that there was very little hope for recovery but we wanted him home – and now knowing the extent of his injuries – by some miracle, he made it. We were all able to see him and say goodbye before he passed away a little more than four hours after arriving home.

Words cannot express the sorrow that has overcome our family. K and I are devastated that our son will not meet his grandpa – one of our biggest supporters through our struggles to conceive. He was so looking forward to meeting his grandson in a few short weeks. I will never, ever forget his reaction when we got to tell him we were finally pregnant last October. We showed him the ultrsasound picture on our iPad, it took him a few minutes to figure out what it was and then he immediately broke down in tears. He loved this baby so much already. And although they will never get to meet in this world, we know that our son’s impending arrival has brought a sense of hope and anticipation to our family during a very dark time and for that, we feel blessed.

It’s easy to forget how precious and fragile life really is and this horrific tragedy has reminded me to cherish every day with the people I love because you just never know what tomorrow will bring.

10 thoughts on “Dark Days with a Ray of Light

  1. I am so sorry for your family’s loss. It does remind you (not that we needed it) how precious life is and the cycle of life. I am sure that his spirit will live on in your son and you will share all his wonderful memories with your son. Sending you comfort during this difficult time.

  2. Oh huni, I’m so sorry for your loss. Loosing a loved one is so painful, I know. At least you have all lovely memories to treasure and to pass on to baby. I’m sorry your father in law didn’t get to see your baby. Much love and hugs to you hun xoxo
    *⌣͡«̊͡♡̊͡ÐEE♡̊͡»̊͡⌣͡*

  3. Oh Jen – I am so so sorry to hear about your father in law – this is devastating news. so unfair and awful. I am sending lots of prayers your way.

  4. Oh no! That’s beyond awful news. Simply not fair. I am so sorry for your family’s loss and for your son not being able to meet his Grandpa. Will be keeping you in your prayers. I am familiar with sudden loss of a loved one unfortunately. Hugs to you Jen. Again, I am so, so sorry to hear this.

  5. Oh Jen, as soon as I started reading I remembered about him crying when hearing the news. It touched my heart so much at the time. I can’t believe it was him of all people, and now, before he got to hold your baby. I hate how things just seem so so unfair, why not a few months later at least? I’m so so sorry. So so sorry Jen.

Leave a Reply

