Little Update

Just thought I’d check in really quick.

Everything is going great. I had an ultrasound last week to check on my placenta and low and behold it has moved up and out of the way so I’m clear for a vaginal delivery. And the best part of that day was seeing our little dude again! Oh my has he grown. We got to see him in 3D and it was AMAZING! His features were so clear (clear enough that I could already see resemblances to K and I) and he was moving around like a maniac! He had his eyes wide open and we could see him looking around – so, so unbelievably awe-inspiring. I can’t wait to meet this young man!

Jan14-13_front_profile jan14-13_side_profile

Other than that I’ve been feeling pretty good. Still a bit pukey but not too bad on most days. My blood pressure has been great, I passed my glucose tolerance test…all in all, everything is great and I have zero complaints.

The one thing that’s caught me off-guard a few times lately is the question many people seem to ask (not being aware of our struggles for the most part)…”are you going to have more children?” It always throws me for a loop and I feel a little unprepared to answer. So I usually just respond, “Probably not,” to which some people seem to feel the need to justify our ‘decision’ to only have one child. And then, I usually feel both a little sad and then a little guilty. Why guilty you ask? Well, because I truly feel like we’ve won the jackpot. After everything we’ve been through…six years of this…I know how very, very, very fortunate we are to have this little guy on the way. Believe me…you have no idea how grateful I am. But I also wish, on some level, that we could have another child. More so for him than us. And then I feel guilty because I feel like I have no right to wish for anything more…I’ve already won the lottery of a lifetime. But as guilty as it makes me feel, I can’t help but feel saddened by the fact that someone else had a hand in our chances at having more children. Had my hydrosalpinx been dealt with earlier and we not wasted so much time on treatment without realizing that the treatment never really had a chance with the hydrosalpinx in place, maybe just maybe we would have been able to give our little miracle a sibling. But, alas, this is what life has handed to us and whenever that little twinge of sadness hits, I just feel my belly and thank my lucky stars for the beautiful gift we have been given. This little guy will have more love than he will know what to do with.

Hope all is well with all of you. Until next time.

9 thoughts on “Little Update

  1. I hear you on having another child, it just plain sucks we all can’t do it the old fashion way. We look at Logan every single day and can’t believe how lucky we are to have him. I am sure your little one is here by now and I hope everything is going well.

  2. Wow, congratulations on your little bean πŸ™‚ you are indeed very lucky, but hey, you can always have a wanting for another baby and I don’t think you should feel guilty πŸ™‚ you have been blessed and there’s no reason why you can’t be blessed again! May the universe make this a reality for you πŸ™‚ congrats again on your bundle of joy πŸ™‚

    tryingforbabydee.wordpress.com

  3. Jen, so so glad and happy for you. Yes, perhaps it would have been nice to have another, but your life is about to be so rich, and full, and happy and busy that you won’t have these thoughts except in passing, I think. Congrats on that beautiful boy, can’t wait until we can see him in person!

  4. He’s beautiful. And I bet so are you with your belly. Cant wait to see you….so are you coming over or what? Hey about the sibling thing…..I hear ya. Eventhough we knew Livi was the only one, torching Stef’s sperm was hard. And it’s wierd when you have a baby after all you’ve been through….it’s like it never happened….by the people who saw you go through it all. My own mother in law suggested that we start ‘trying’ for a little play mate for Olivia. Mind boggling. But listen….you will have a much better grasp on all those ‘guilt’ feelings once he is here. You may just find that your family is complete and perfect as it is and wont give it another thought. Nothing to feel sorry about…you know and I know that if IVF was not in our fate, we both might have had two kids by now….but there is a reason for everything, and I now know why I was only given one and. And you will too.

  5. Awe, he is so cute! I’m glad to hear all is going well! I’ve thought the same thing about having more than one…

    I too wasted precious time with my first IF doc, and I do think about how things may have been different had he not been incompetent. sigh. Just glad you are finally so close to sweet success πŸ™‚

  6. Soooo great to hear from you Jen. I hear ya on the issue on an only child. I experience the same emotions all the time. It gets better and less intense in time…

  7. What fabulous news!!! Love the photos. Its really hard when others don’t know the journey you have been on. My sister waited 3 years for my nephew via adoption and still gets that question. Her response usually is “we got the best one”
    Enjoy every moment….

Leave a Reply

