This and That

I had my first OB appointment today – it went well. Nothing too terribly exciting. Dr. S has been my OB/GYN for the past several years (and she’s also a family friend) so I know her well and am very comfortable with her. We talked about quite a few things, including amniocentisis, and in the end we’ve decided not to do it. I know there is a small margin of error with CCS-tested embryos, but given the risks of amnio, neither we nor Dr. S felt that the amnio was worth the risk. We have the NT ultrasound scheduled for September 26th so if that goes well, that should be it for screening.

In other news, I had some minor spotting again this weekend – just a small amount when I wiped but it was there and red, so that freaked me out. I had a bit Saturday and then a bit again yesterday. I’m hoping it’s just from the suppositories but it always scares the crap out me. I’ll be very glad to get these suppositories over and done with – I’d take the PIO injection over the suppositories any day.

Sadly, I had to cancel a get-together Saturday with local blogging friends Lisa and Iveta due to the spotting. I was super disappointed but the spotting had me pretty freaked and I wouldn’t have been great company. Hopefully once this scary first trimester is over, we’ll be able to reschedule.

The “morning” sickness has been relentless – I’ve pretty much felt like I’ve been on a spinning carnival ride for the past few weeks – I hope it goes away soon. Luckily I haven’t been vomiting non-stop though, usually just once or twice a day. As miserable as the nausea is, it does continue to reassure me that I’m still pregnant so that’s the bright side.

Other than that, not too much to report. Oh the only other thing that’s driving me nuts – my stupid blood pressure. I don’t have high blood pressure but every single time I’m at the doctor, it’s elevated. It’s super annoying because when I take it at home, it’s always around 117/78 but at the doctor, it’s usually over 130. I know this happens to some people but I wish it wouldn’t. It freaks me out. I think next time I see Dr. S, I’m going to take my monitor with me just to see how closely it reads to hers to make sure the readings I’m getting at home are accurate.

Hope everyone out there is doing well. Thinking about my friend from My Fertility Blog who has had a rough go of things lately. Hoping that her one little embryo passes CCS testing and brings her the baby she’s waited so long for. This is such a tough road for so many of us.

7 thoughts on “This and That

  1. I hated the spotting, I always freaked out. I think when you get off the progesterone the spotting will stop. I did not do the amnio test either, was not worth the risk. I know CCRM still encourages it, they even sent a letter to my OB as a reminder for the test but I still declined it, my OB agreed. You will love seeing you baby at the NT scan!

  2. The spotting can be scary but glad its minimal and hope its does not re-occur only because I can imagine how worrisome it can be. Yes the m/s sucks. Are you noticing its worse now at 9-10 weeks than at 7-8 weeks? Like you I am vomiting 1-2 times a day as well, but its so random that its not like I can say its in the AM or PM or plan around it which makes it difficult. Your NT scan is a few days before mine. I am sure having a CCS tested embryo makes all this more a formality than anything else. I wanted to do CVS but decided to NT first and then make a decision. Hopefully the m/s will subside as we move further along with the pregnancy.

  3. We wouldn’t have done the amnio either… why risk it? Hope there is no more spotting, so you can get on to enjoying every day of this long awaited pregnancy! Oh, and I always did PIO over suppositories, mostly for the messy factor ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Yes, spotting is scary as hell. But also totally normal the vast majority of the time. It is a wonderful milestone to finally get off progesterone and estrogen support – I think it actually helps with the nausea too. I certainly felt much better once I stopped taking that stuff. Hang in there, first trimester will be over before you know it!

  5. All is well, and can’t wait to see you. Yes, taking you monitor tomdoc is a good idea. Or even one of those things at shoppers drug mart. Keep puking! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Thank you Jen. I appreciate you kindness. Really.
    Sorry about the spotting. I would freak out too but remember so many women get it. Even when they are not using suppositories. My friend that got pregnant on her honeymoon that just gave birth had it during her whole first trimester and her baby girl is now about 3 months. Hang in there. Apparently is very common. xo

Leave a Reply

