Surreal

Today was a BIG day…giant day. Ultrasound #1.

It’s been a tough week. I had some spotting and cramping last week – Monday, Thursday and Friday. The spotting was fairly minor – was really just there when I wiped, but it was bright red at times and that, along with some fairly moderate cramping, had me beside myself with worry. The nurses at CCRM talked me off the ledge on more than one occasion, reassuring me that both spotting and cramping (and, yes, even together) are very, very common in IVF pregnancies. I wish that had been enough to put my mind at ease but it wasn’t – Friday was a bad, bad day. CCRM had me start an antibiotic Friday as well – just in case. The way the nurse explained it was that if something could get out (i.e. blood), then there was a possibility of infection getting in, so better to be safe.

Luckily the spotting tapered off Friday evening but I then got a wicked headache that lasted until end of day Saturday. Nausea started Saturday as well, which weirdly enough made me feel better – Nausea is a good sign, right?

Anyhow, no more spotting since Friday (knock on wood), still have some mild cramping coming and going and I’m definitely nauseous. I haven’t thrown up yet but have felt nauseous on and off since Saturday (which I’m not complaining about one tiny bit – it’s somehow reassuring).

I had my levels checked Friday as well and am still struggling a bit with my P4, although Dr. M isn’t terribly concerned. I’m already on suppositories 4/day as well as 1 cc of PIO daily so they don’t want to increase it any further. I’m trying not to worry about it and just trust in my doctor.

And now, finally, the BIG news of the day. Today’s ultrasound went great – there is one, beautifully breathtaking bean inside ladies! According to the ultrasound tech, our little bean is doing great – measuring in at 6.6 mm with a heartbeat of 121 bpm – unbelievable. I am in shock. The tech said that s(he) is measuring a day ahead at 6w4d gestational age. Very emotional day for me. Aside from a few tears, I held it together in the ultrasound room but when we got to the car, let me tell you the flood gates burst. So happy, so relieved….in awe.

Still not out of the woods…don’t know that I will ever truly feel ‘safe’ after what we’ve been through but today things are looking good.

10 thoughts on “Surreal

  1. I am so happy for you guys! After all you’ve been through, it’s so nice that you will finally have your little miracle. I think we appreciate them even more when we have been through IF. Thinking of you my friend!

  2. YAY!!! What a huge relieve that day was for us! I am so happy for you. I hated spotting, I freaked out every time it happened and studied the tp way too much after that happened. I rested a lot and drank lots of water. I hope it stays away for you the rest of the pregnancy. By the way 121 was the HR we had too.

  3. Wooh! That’s a relief! I know the spotting and cramping can be terrifying, so I hope it’s gone for good. Hang in there, and congrats on your little bean 🙂

  4. YAAAY Jen! This is a HUGE moment. I know there’s still a ways to go, but seeing that heartbeat is an enormous milestone! I am so, so so happy for you. I had a bleeding and cramping episode too and I thought it was all over – that was the lowest point for me this whole year! But everything is okay and is looking so positive for you – try to enjoy these precious days as much as possible!

  5. Fantastic about the bean and hearbeat, Jen. So happy for you! Glad the spotting stopped and cramping is less. It is very unsettling to be sure, but seeing your bean measuring right on the mark I am sure made you feel wonderful. Now you really need to put up a pregnancy ticker! Hope the headaches and nausea stay in control.

Leave a Reply

