The Kindness of Strangers

Well ladies…I’ve had a few gentle nudges asking me where I’ve been lately so I thought I better post.


Sorry about my lack of regular posting lately. For some reason, I’m struggling a bit with my enthusiasm around my next cycle and all things IF-related for that matter. I think this very long journey is just finally catching up with me and I’m just growing a bit tired of it all. I hate that I’m feeling a bit jaded but I am.


Anywhooo…not much happening here. I’m thinking we’ll likely do our next retrieval sometime in February. That will give us January to get back on track after the holidays.


I titled this post ‘The Kindness of Strangers’ because I am absolutely overwhelmed at times by the amazing people I have met through blogging and the incredibly generous offers and constant support these ‘strangers’ have selflessly offered.


I won’t name names because I don’t want to put anyone on the spot but in the past few weeks I have had one fellow blogger offer me a place to stay in Denver for my next retrieval and another give me left-over meds for my next cycle and subsequent FET. Not to mention the many emails, comments and constant encouragement you ladies provide. It truly amazes me and I am very grateful for the support.


Other than that, not too much to report. The holidays have been good…lots of family time and also some down time with just K and I which has been nice. My mom spent the holidays with my brother and his family on the east coast this year. It’s only the second Christmas I’ve not spent with her and I really missed her. My brother has a young family though, so I’m glad she got to spend Christmas with them. There’s nothing like the excitement of little kids at Christmas!


Yesterday was our sixth wedding anniversary. On one hand our wedding feels like yesterday, but on the other it feels like a lot longer than six years ago – probably because we’ve been together for almost 20! We’re kind of lame…after all of the craziness of the holidays, neither one of us felt like doing anything so we just had a quiet evening at home with the puppies and some takeout. Works for us!


Well…that’s all for now. I’ll try and post a bit more frequently next month. Maybe once the New Year hits, I’ll get some excitement back.


Happy New Year all!

7 thoughts on “The Kindness of Strangers

  1. Hi Jen, I'm just back from India and catching up on all the blogs. It's nice to hear your "voice" again. I totally don't blame you for not wanting to write. It gets wearying sharing the same old fears and frustrations sometimes. I am so glad, and yet not surprised, that people have been kind to you – you are always kind and supportive to others, so a bit of that is coming back to you! Let's hope 2012 is our year Jen, I want that so bad for both of us.

  2. Hey…we all had a little help from the kindness of complete strangers! We couldn't do it without each other. So glad you were able to support me through my journey in 2011…here's hoping I can fill the same level of support for you in 2012. Let this be YOUR year!!

  3. Happy New Years Jen and Happy Anniversary!! Hoping you can end this IF struggle this year with a BFP, I'll be here cheering you on!! All the best to you and K!

  4. Happy Anniversary! Wow, 20 years together is a long time. I believe IF can make couples stronger and I am sure it has done that for your marriage too. I completely understand the kindness of strangers because I just started blogging againg and am so overjoyed to have the support of others, including you! The power of IF women is truly amazing. Right now time is going slowly but wait until Jan is here and it will fly by again. You will be having your ER before you know it!

Leave a Reply

