Mmmeltdown!

It’s been awhile. Guess I was due for one. I feel bad for the poor representative from my employer’s insurance that lucked out taking THAT call!


So…remember how I said that there was a chance that I may get reimbursed for some of my upcoming IVF cycle due to my recent bilateral tubal blockage diagnosis? Well…of course it couldn’t be that easy.


It’s a long and boring story and I won’t bother you with the details but basically the insurance would cover the cycle IF, and only if, I had it done here at home. Out of the country…no chance.


So…I tried to keep it together but I finally cracked and the flood gates opened. Poor girl…I couldn’t even speak I was sobbing so hard. When I finally pulled myself together, I apologized profusely for making her uncomfortable. She was so nice about it. She said she totally understood and, as a woman, wished she could help me more. We went on to talk about the whole messy ordeal that has been my reproductive journey and she ended up telling me that although they wouldn’t be able to help with the upcoming cycle, there was a chance that they may be able to reimburse us for the previous two attempts we have done here in Canada. She couldn’t promise anything but she said she’d do everything she could. We’ll see – I don’t have my hopes up but I really do appreciate her looking into it for me.

11 thoughts on “Mmmeltdown!

  1. Ugh! So sorry they won't cover the upcoming one. FX they give some $$ for the previous ones. Navigating health care systems and insurance companies is such a pain!!! I don't blame you for melting down. I've had plenty of melt downs trying to navigate these systems.

  2. OHHHHHHHHH Jen Jen Jen! I am sooo soooooo sorry! I really hope the girl will be able to help you out on getting some reimbursement for the other CDN IVF attempts. I sure hope your bad luck train ends here…

  3. Oh, I really hope that the insurance goes through. Any amount helps! It's totally ok to have a meltdown. After all that you've been through, one meltdown is nothing!

  4. Jen – Hope she comes through with some reimbursement $s. Yes, it's horribly expensive, but someone once told me that you can always make more money, but you can't put a price on life.

  5. Wow. Sorry to hear about the melt down…but I don't blame you. I hope you get the ones here looked after at least….that would be somewhat of a break. hang in there my friend…we'll chat more about it next week.

  6. Oh Jen, I'm so sorry. It's so irritating that we have to deal with this crap on top of IF. I pray that your meltdown not only gave you some much needed release but also gets you a reimbursement!!

  7. Hey, it happens! And maybe something good will come of it. That would be wonderful to get some of your money back. I'm just glad she was kind about it. I had an experience with our old insurance company's nurse case manager who did all she could to deny our request for IVIG – and I knew the chick! Sheesh! I'll be crossing my fingers for you!

  8. Wow, what a punch in the gut. I hate insurance companies, it is always something and never easy. I sure hope you get some reimbursement from past cycles, that would be nice and then you could use that money for your next cycle at CCRM. Keep us posted!

  9. Aww Jen, I'm sure you feel better now. Sometimes cartharsis by way of crying helps. This process is so freaking frustrating. At least the girl was nice and understanding. That would be incredible if they could reimburse you.

  10. That is so nice! It would be amazing to get some reimbursement! The money part totally sucks on top of everything else. Fingers crossed Jen, I really hope so, even if it's half of it, anything back at this point, right?… And so sorry about the meltdown, I have those every now and then… I have to say it feels better afterwards 🙂

Leave a Reply

