Ho Hum…

Waiting SUCKS. I am not a patient person but IF has taught me that I have no choice, so I have begrudgingly learned to be a more patient person (it still sucks).


So, I am ‘patiently’ waiting for this laparoscopy to be scheduled. It has been 19 days (not that I’m counting!) since I met with the surgeon, pleaded my case and signed the surgical consent forms. I have called my health region’s surgical care coordinator twice now, only to be told that she has not yet received the referral – ummm…I thought my OB was putting a rush on this thing?


So yesterday I called my OB’s assistant to see what was going on. That didn’t go well. She was rude, wouldn’t give me any time frame what-so-ever for how long it would take to get the referral made, and frankly was appauled that I even had the ‘nerve’ to check in on it (OK she didn’t say it, but her tone was very clear).


And so…wait for it…we wait…again. Luckily, I have an appointment with my OB for a week from Friday so I’m hoping he will be able to give me some kind of update in terms of when I can expect this surgery. I just want to get this show on the road already!


Damn…this has been a long journey!

8 thoughts on “Ho Hum…

  1. From one impatient woman to another – I agree! On the other hand, each step in the IF and pregnancy process is a waiting game – waiting for the ET, the 2ww, waiting for symptoms like nausea, waiting for your belly to grow, waiting for people to notice, waiting for kicks, waiting for the nausea you waited for a few weeks ago to go away, waiting for the nursery furniture to be delivered…waiting, waiting, waiting and more waiting. But oh so much fun!!! Then, one day you wake up stunned that everything is happening so fast, you're holding your newborn child in your arms and you ask yourself "where did the time go?!"

  2. Hey girl. One thing I've learned about dealing with SK healthcare….never make phone calls if possible. Go in person, bring coffee or muffins. Apologize for taking their time, let them know it's important to you, and then ask. I even took a receptionist out for lunch once. On the phone, the apologizing and begging is even worse, and only if I don't know how to see these people. Like Prov. Lab….it's locked up. CCRM never got ANY of my STATs yesterday…and I did even more than usual to hold people's hand. So…I have to spend my working morning chasing them around. So glad you have an appointment to talk to him. That's the best. Hope this happens for you fast! Let me know if you have time for coffee!

  3. Sorry that nurse was so rude – but the squeaky wheel usually gets the grease! I am also in disbelief about how long this process takes. I pray that your surgery gets on the calendar ASAP!

  4. Ugh! I'm so sorry that you've been waiting so long for a lap. That just doesn't make sense. And then to have to deal with that attitude! I really hope that they get the show on the road. Hang in there!

  5. I'll be thinking of you tomorrow!I agree the waiting part does suck! TONS!I'd accidentally stop by you OB's office and see what the excuse is.Silly receptionist!!I'll be hoping and wishing good news for you!!HUGS!

Leave a Reply

