Day 6 Update

I’m gonna be honest…I really didn’t feel like posting tonight (I’m not in a great place) but I know there are some wonderfully caring ladies out there who are anxiously awaiting my Day 6 report.


So…I’m a bit terrified. We went from twenty-nine eggs retrieved to fourteen fertilized embryos on Day 1 to four frozen blasts on Day 6…today. Please don’t get me wrong, I am grateful to have ANY that made it but I am also terrified. So many were retrieved that it was just hard not to get our hopes up that more would have made it. We were hoping for at least seven today based on statistical norms, so to me this is scary. 


I know I need to be positive and I’ll get there, but this blog is first and foremost an outlet for me – a form of therapy and so I need to be honest…and at this moment I am nervous. I don’t feel like I have much more left in me in terms of trying – the last five years have taken their toll – I am spent.


Here are the details of our four little blasts:


All were biopsied and frozen on Day 6


5AB
5BB
5BB
3BB

9 thoughts on “Day 6 Update

  1. Hi Jen…I know how you feel. I had only one frozen and while I waited for the CCS on that, I think I did go a bit nuts. I ended up seeing my counsellor, because I couldnt get out of my car to do my job during the day. She told me to go home and cry. That's what I'm going to tell you now. By grieving the disappointment, you will let hope in again when you're ready. In my books, you're still way ahead of the game. thanks for posting…I was checking every few hours. You have lots of hope here….but give yourself the time to feel however you need to. 4 is awesome at this age. Just believe your little one is one of those!!

  2. Dear Jen, I totally understand, be mad, get upset, be sad, everything!! We don't need to be perfect, you are human and you are allowed to get disappointed and discouraged, you have been through so so much. You have time to feel everything you are feeling before your FET. I am hopeful though that you will get back some normals and your hope will come back. Hang in there. xoxo

  3. I can understand you being nervous, but as everyone else said you have some great quality ones left and even after the testing, you can still have that take home baby – or two! I'll be thinking about you and sending positive vibes your way! Best of luck!

  4. I know you wanted more, specially with 29 eggs but I think 4 blasts is still good, you probably will get at least 2 CCS normals and that can perfectly mean two take home babies like Libby said. Hang in there Jen. It is still a good outcome.

  5. Hey you may not have the quantity…but you certainly have the quality. Praying for at least two normal embies in there Jen. Hang tight…this is not easy I know.

Leave a Reply

