Quick Update

Just thought I’d write a quick post. ER went well. I can’t believe how much easier it was than my previous ones (hopefully I’ll never have to do it again, but if I do I am never doing it without anesthetic again!)


I was fairly uncomfortable when I woke up but my nurse Jacquie (a fellow Canadian!) was quick to get some more drugs into me and I felt better fairly quickly after that.


Well…we are in shock…the embryologist said they retrieved 29 – yes 29 – eggs. We were speechless. We both thought she said 20 but nope, 29. She said with that many there will likely be some immature ones, but still – feeling pretty good about everything so far. Next hurdle – fertilization report tomorrow. Will update once we get home later tomorrow.


Thanks to all of you for your kind words and well wishes over the past week or so – they’ve helped a LOT!

10 thoughts on “Quick Update

  1. Wow! 29 eggs! I think that's probably one of the highest numbers I've ever heard. I hope that all of them are mature and fertilize. From one CCRMer to another, it looks like they're working their magic. Keeping my fingers crossed that all works out great!!

  2. That's great news! And I'm going to engage in some magical thinking and think it's a great sign that we both retrieved 29 eggs! Maybe that's our magic number šŸ™‚ Can't wait to hear the fert report!!! Take care of yourself these next few days/weeks/months. If you're recovery is anything like mine, you may be uncomfortable for up to 2 months. I tell you this not to scare you but just so you know to expect it. I didn't and I spent a lot of time wondering if I was going crazy for still being bloated, etc. So my main words of wisdom would be that if you feel uncomfortable, that's normal and it's totally OK to relax and pamper yourself while your body recovers from producing so many eggs.

  3. 29 eggs Jen!!!!! That is AWESOME!!! You and Manni are super stars!!! So happy for you! I can't believe anyone has gone through ER without anesthesia, wow, had no idea. But I don't think you will never need to do anymore ER's again. 29 eggs! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

