Regroup

We had our re-group with Dr. M yesterday. Not much news – all of our tests came back with good results – she didn’t have any concerns with anything. We spent the majority of the call discussing the possible hydrosalpinx and what it means going forward.


The plan at this point is to do the endometrial biopsy on Monday and talk to my OBGYN at that appointment about repeating the HSG. Dr. M wants me to have a copy of the recorded procedure (apparently the radiologists record the whole thing) sent to her so she can see for herself what’s going on. If the repeat HSG confirms a hydrosalpinx, I’ll arrange to have my tube(s) tied or removed after egg retrieval and before transfer.


I’m still perplexed as to why my former RE did not repeat the HSG before my previous IVF procedures, as DR. M confirmed that hydrosalpinx reduces the success of IVF by 30-50%. My former RE’s explanation was that she did two sono-HSGs and they did not indicate a hydrosalpinx. But when I asked Dr. M about HSG vs. sono-HSG for detecting a hydro, she said that the sono is not a sufficient exam for detecting tubal issues – it’s good for confirming uterine abnormalities but not tubal. So…I guess there is no point dwelling on this – what’s done is done. I can’t help but wonder though…what would have happened if this would have been detected earlier (if I do indeed have one).


So…we’ll march forward with egg retrieval. I got all of my prescriptions emailed to me yesterday and have made an appointment with my GP for next week so that she can co-write the prescriptions for me. One of the prescriptions will have to be filled in Denver and mailed to me as apparently it’s a special formula that isn’t available in all pharmacies, so I’ll phone about that today. I think I’ll pop into my pharmacy today or tomorrow as well with a list of my meds and make sure there won’t be any problems getting anything. 


Annie said I’m on the Lu.pron 40 protocol, which I think is the same as the Micro Lu.pron protocol? All of the meds are new for me except the Go.nal-F, which I’ve used before. I’m a tad bit perplexed on the protocol, only because everything I’ve read indicates that it is typically used for women over 40 and poor responders – neither of which really fit my profile, but I trust that Dr. M knows what she’s doing and that there’s a reason she’s chosen this specific protocol. I may follow up with an email – just so I know what the reason was.


Other than that, not much to report on. I’ll follow up next week after the dreaded biopsy. I hope it’s not as bad as I think it’s going to be!!

4 thoughts on “Regroup

  1. I would definitely follow up with an email if you have any questions or doubts. I wish I would have questioned more at least for my own peace of mind. Hope everything goes smoothly.

  2. Everything happens for a reason…you just were not meant to have a baby until later! Hey are you are on the same protocol I was. You know what happened. The gonal was too high and my eggs got baked too fast. She said that was the exception so I hope things go better for you. Ask your nurse if you have any doubts…that's what she's there for. As well ….IMPORTANT!!! Do not leave your Lupron to right before you need it. I got hassle from the border big time. I had to send them a copy of my passport, a letter from my doctor ( nurse provides that) stating why this drug had to come from the states, and a copy of the prescription. If I were you, fax all that to Tod's to include in the shipment. Just ask Your nurse for the letter. It's a simple two lines. Or you can wait until they ask for it, but make sure you give yourself at least a week before you need it. I also got a US fedex account to make things smoother.

  3. I hope it turns out that you don't have a tubal problem, but then in a way, a tubal problem might explain previous failures. Anyway, just hope this cycle goes smooth for you and be a total success! Let the excitement begin!!

  4. Wow…sounds like the ball is really rolling…so complicated too! I really hope your next HSG turns up no hydrosalpinx. Because then there's the whole delay to getting those tubes removed and nothing happens overnight here in SK! Who's your OB/GYN btw? Just curious. Good luck! I know you are in great hands with CCRM.

Leave a Reply

