Back on track

One of the things I talked to Dr. M about last week was whether or not it was safe to try and drop some weight before cycling. I’ve heard a few different perspectives on this so wanted her opinion.


There have been so many things over the past few years that have made it tough to keep my weight where it should be – hormones from cycling, pregnancy, depression, back surgery and a very, very long recovery.


I used to run – nothing serious – just short distances and just to keep in shape (i.e. I’m not one of those people that LOVE exercise), but when I started having problems with my back more than five years ago, that quickly came to a halt.


I started doing some fairly long walks last summer. I was walking over 7 km every day – I think I made it over 70 days without missing a single day. But then my back started acting up again. My physiotherapist said to cut the walking down and, frankly, I lost my motivation altogether.


Finally, I’m in a place physically where I feel like my body can tolerate exercise again. My back is not perfect, and I think I will always have some residual pain – I did walk around with a herniated disc for more than three years after all, so likely did some long term nerve damage. But overall, and compared to where I was two years ago, I’m good.


So, after talking to Dr. M, I’ve decided to try and drop some weight and get back on track. I started running again last week, and so far so good. Again, I’m not doing anything wild and crazy and am just taking my time, but I’m feeling good so far. If my back – actually I usually feel the pain in my leg – so weird how back problems can present in your lower leg – acts up, I just slow it down and continue walking. So we’ll see how this goes!

3 thoughts on “Back on track

  1. Sounds great! I've been working to get my body in shape as well. Want it to be as healthy as possible so it will be a good place for my babies to grow when the time comes 🙂 Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

